The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Wolfgang Hilbig

Born 31/8/1941
Deceased 2/6/2007
Member since 1990

Wolfgang Hilbig, der in der ungeheuren leeren Halle des Schweigens seine Stimme wagte, um der Wortlosigkeit zu entkommen...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Christian Meier
Peter Hamm, Harald Hartung, Peter von Matt, Uwe Pörksen, Ilma Rakusa, Klaus Reichert, Lea Ritter-Santini, außerdem Peter Benz (Stadt Darmstadt), Konrad Schacht (Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst)