The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.


Terézia Mora

Terézia Mora

Writer, Screenwriter and Translator
Born 5/2/1971
Member since 2015

Georg-Büchner-Preis 2018
Laudatory Address by Daniela Strigl
Acceptance Speech by Terézia Mora

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Präsident Ernst Osterkamp
Vizepräsidenten: Aris Fioretos, Wolfgang Klein, Monika Rinck, Beisitzer: Elisabeth Edl, László Földényi, Michael Hagner, Dea Loher, Ilma Rakusa, Marisa Siguan
sowie je ein Vertreter der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, des Landes Hessen und der Stadt Darmstadt