Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2016

Marcel Beyer

Marcel Beyer is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2016. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 5.


Ernst Kreuder

Ernst Kreuder

Born 29/8/1903
Deceased 24/12/1972
Member since 1954

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1953
Laudatory Address by Kasimir Edschmid
Acceptance Speech by Ernst Kreuder

... den Erzähler und Publizisten, der mit Mut und Können für die Souveränität der Kunst einsteht...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Bruno Snell
Friedrich Bischoff, Bernard von Brentano, Kasimir Edschmid, Rudolf Hagelstange, Gertrud von le Fort, Wilhelm Lehmann, Rudolf Pechel (Ehrenpräsident), Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Gerhard Storz, Fritz Usinger