The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Peter Rühmkorf

Writer and Critic
Born 25/10/1929
Deceased 8/6/2008
Member since 1977

Peter Rühmkorf, dem wir ein vielstimmiges, alle Literaturgattungen umfassendes Œuvre von hohem artistischen Rang verdanken...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Herbert Heckmann
Peter Benz (Stadt Darmstadt), Herman Dieter Betz (Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst), Elisabeth Borchers, Günter de Bruyn, Iso Camartin, Eckhard Heftrich, Norbert Miller, Ivan Nagel, Hans Wollschläger