Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Ingeborg Bachmann

Ingeborg BachmannIngeborg BachmannIngeborg BachmannIngeborg Bachmann

Born 25/6/1926
Deceased 17/10/1973
Member since 1957

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1964
Laudatory Address by Werner Weber
Acceptance Speech by Ingeborg Bachmann

Scharf von Erkenntnis und bitter von Sehnsucht.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hanns W. Eppelsheimer
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid (Ehrenpräsident), Richard Gerlach, Hermann Kasack (Ehrenpräsident), Marie Luise Kaschnitz, Karl Krolow, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini, Gerhart Pohl, Dolf Sternbergerk, W. E. Süskind, Fritz Usinger