Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Elias Canetti

Elias CanettiElias Canetti

Born 25/7/1905
Deceased 14/8/1994
Member since 1972

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1972
Laudatory Address by Horst Bienek
Acceptance Speech by Elias Canetti

... für ein Werk, das den Spannungen zwischen Macht und Intellekt, Masse und Verführung, Moralität und Widerstand gilt...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Karl Krolow
Horst Bienek, Siegfried Dörffeldt (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Carl Linfert, Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Hans Scholz, Dolf Sternberger, Gerhard Storz, Wolfgang Weyrauch