Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Hermann Lenz

Hermann LenzHermann Lenz

Born 26/2/1913
Deceased 12/5/1998
Member since 1974

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1978
Laudatory Address by Dolf Sternberger
Acceptance Speech by Hermann Lenz

Sein Werk ist ausgezeichnet durch scharfe Wahrnehmung und treue Erinnerung sowohl unscheinbarer als entsetzlicher Erfahrungen...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Peter de Mendelssohn
Karl Krolow, Manfred Ranft (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Bruno Snell (Ehrenpräsident), Dolf Sternberger, Gerhard Storz, Bernhard Zeller, Eva Zeller