The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Prize Winner 2021

Clemens J. Setz

Clemens J. Setz is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2021. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 6.


Marie Luise Kaschnitz

Marie Luise Kaschnitz

Born 31/1/1901
Deceased 10/10/1974
Member since 1949

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1955
Laudatory Address by Kasimir Edschmid
Acceptance Speech by Marie Luise Kaschnitz

Stets dem Geiste zugewandt, Antikisches und Heutiges in humanem Sinne verbindend und auf eine neue für uns gültige Weise formend...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Bernard von Brentano, Kasimir Edschmid, Rudolf Hagelstange, Gertrud von le Fort, Wilhelm Lehmann, Rudolf Pechel (Ehrenpräsident), Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Gerhard Storz, Fritz Usinger