The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Prize Winner 2021

Clemens J. Setz

Clemens J. Setz is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2021. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 6.


Hans Magnus Enzensberger

Hans Magnus EnzensbergerHans Magnus EnzensbergerHans Magnus Enzensberger

Born 11/11/1929

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1963
Laudatory Address by Hanns W. Eppelsheimer (Ehrenmitglied)
Acceptance Speech by Hans Magnus Enzensberger

... mit bedeutender Kunst und Kraft verwirklichte Gesellschaftskritik.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hanns W. Eppelsheimer
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid (Ehrenpräsident), Richard Gerlach, Hermann Kasack (Ehrenpräsident), Marie Luise Kaschnitz, Karl Krolow, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini, Gerhart Pohl, Dolf Sternbergerk, W. E. Süskind, Fritz Usinger