Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2017

Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on Oktober, 28.


Heinz Piontek

Heinz Piontek

Born 15/11/1925
Deceased 26/10/2003
Member since 1969

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1976
Laudatory Address by Eberhard Horst
Acceptance Speech by Heinz Piontek

... einem Erzähler, der Zeit, Umwelt und Schicksal hereinzieht, ohne sich ihnen anders als in persönlich gefärbter Sprache und Gestalt zu unterwerfen.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Peter de Mendelssohn
Horst Bienek, Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Geno Hartlaub, Karl Krolow, Manfred Ranft (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Dolf Sternberger, Gerhard Storz, Wolfgang Weyrauch