Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2016

Marcel Beyer

Marcel Beyer is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2016. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 5.


Arnold Stadler

Arnold Stadler

Born 9/4/1954
Member since 1998

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1999
Laudatory Address by Peter Hamm
Acceptance Speech by Arnold Stadler

... dessen Bücher, indem sie das Gruseln lehren, jenen Ernst bezeugen, ohne den die Komik keinen Grund hätte.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Christian Meier
Peter Hamm, Harald Hartung, Peter von Matt, Uwe Pörksen, Ilma Rakusa, Klaus Reichert, Lea Ritter-Santini, außerdem Peter Benz (Stadt Darmstadt), Herman Dieter Betz (Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst)