The »Johann-Heinrich-Merck-Preis für literarische Kritik und Essay« (Prize for Literary Criticism and Essay Writing) has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature since 1964, financed by the Darmstadt-based Merck pharmaceutical company.
It is awarded annually at the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The Johann Heinrich Merck Prize has been endowed with €20,000 since 2013.

Prize Winner 2017

Jens Bisky is awarded the »Johann-Heinrich-Merck-Preis für literarische Kritik und Essay« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on October, 28.