Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Wolfgang Koeppen

Wolfgang Koeppen

Born 23/6/1906
Deceased 15/3/1996
Member since 1961

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1962
Laudatory Address by Walter Jens
Acceptance Speech by Wolfgang Koeppen

So liegt ein Gesamtwerk vor, das sich gleichermaßen durch Mut wie durch künstlerische Darstellungskraft auszeichnet.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid, Hanns W. Eppelsheimer, Richard Gerlach, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini, Gerhart Pohl, Dolf Sternberger, W. E. Süskind, Fritz Usinger