The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Jan Wagner

Poet, Translator and Critic
Born 18/10/1971
Member since 2010

... dessen Gedichte spielerische Sprachfreude und meisterhafte Formbeherrschung vereinen.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Präsident Heinrich Detering
Vizepräsidenten Aris Fioretos, Wolfgang Klein, Gustav Seibt, Beisitzer László Földényi, Michael Hagner, Felicitas Hoppe, Per Øhrgaard, Ilma Rakusa, Nike Wagner