Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2017

Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on Oktober, 28.


Wolfdietrich Schnurre

Wolfdietrich SchnurreWolfdietrich Schnurre

Born 22/8/1920
Deceased 9/6/1989
Member from 1959 to 1960

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1983
Laudatory Address by Karl Krolow
Acceptance Speech by Wolfdietrich Schnurre

... seine und unsere Welt facettenreich beschrieben und sie in Gedanken und Bildern so aufsässig wie versöhnlich dem Verständnis des Lesers nahegebracht hat.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Herbert Heckmann
Beda Allemann, Peter Benz (Stadt Darmstadt), Herman Dieter Betz (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Ludwig Harig, Geno Hartlaub, Hans Paeschke, Lea Ritter-Santini, Bruno Snell (Ehrenpräsident), Dolf Sternberger (Ehrenpräsident), Bernhard Zeller, Ernst Zinn