The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Prize Winner 2021

Clemens J. Setz

Clemens J. Setz is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2021. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 6.


Sarah Kirsch

Sarah Kirsch

Born 16/4/1935
Deceased 5/5/2013
Member since 1978

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1996
Laudatory Address by Rolf Michaelis
Acceptance Speech by Sarah Kirsch

Sarah Kirsch, Poetin der Schönheit und Bedrohtheit des Lebens, »Erlkönigs Tochter«, die in ihren Gedichten die Genauigkeit des Blicks mit der beflügelten Kraft des Wünschens verbindet...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Christian Meier
Peter Benz (Stadt Darmstadt), Herman Dieter Betz (Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst), Giuseppe Bevilacqua, Elisabeth Borchers, Kurt Flasch, Peter Hamm, Norbert Miller, Adolf Muschg, Erica Pedretti, Klaus Reichert