Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Peter Handke

Peter HandkePeter Handke

Born 6/12/1942

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1973
Laudatory Address by Rolf Michaelis
Acceptance Speech by Peter Handke

Aus dem Spiel der sich anziehenden Wörter hat er auf vielfältige Weise die Kraft der Dichtung gewonnen.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Karl Krolow
Horst Bienek, Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Carl Linfert, Manfred Ranft (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Hans Scholz, Dolf Sternberger, Gerhard Storz, Wolfgang Weyrauch