Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2016

Marcel Beyer

Marcel Beyer is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2016. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 5.


Ernst Meister

Ernst Meister

Born 3/9/1911
Deceased 15/6/1979
Member since 1974

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1979
Laudatory Address by Eva Zeller

... ein Äußerstes an existentieller Dringlichkeit und an poetischer Leuchtkraft...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Peter de Mendelssohn
Karl Krolow, Manfred Ranft (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Bruno Snell (Ehrenpräsident), Dolf Sternberger, Gerhard Storz, Bernhard Zeller, Eva Zeller