The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.


Max Frisch

Max FrischMax Frisch

Born 15/5/1911
Deceased 4/4/1991
Member since 1954

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1958
Laudatory Address by Rudolf Hagelstange
Acceptance Speech by Max Frisch

Max Frisch, der in seinem epischen und dramatischen Werk die Spannungen im Menschen unserer Zeit aufspürt...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid, Hanns W. Eppelsheimer, Adolf Grimme, Rudolf Hagelstange, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini, Rudolf Pechel (Ehrenpräsident), Gerhart Pohl, Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Fritz Usinger