Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Golo Mann

Golo MannGolo Mann

Writer, Historian and Publicist
Born 27/3/1909
Deceased 7/4/1994
Member since 1957

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1968
Acceptance Speech by Golo Mann

Golo Mann, der mit historischer Forschung eine seltene Ausgewogenheit des Urteils und Meisterschaft der Darstellung verbindet.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Gerhard Storz
Friedrich Bischoff, Richard Gerlach, Rudolf Hagelstange, Udo Kollatz (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Karl Krolow, Fritz Martini, Otto Rombach, Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Dolf Sternberger, W. E. Süskind