Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2016

Marcel Beyer

Marcel Beyer is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2016. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 5.


Martin Kessel

Martin Kessel

Born 14/4/1901
Deceased 14/4/1990
Member from 1954 to 1966

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1954
Laudatory Address by Fritz Usinger
Acceptance Speech by Martin Kessel

... den Erzähler und Lyriker, dem es stets um die prunklose Wahrheit der Wirklichkeit geht...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Bernard von Brentano, Kasimir Edschmid, Rudolf Hagelstange, Gertrud von le Fort, Wilhelm Lehmann, Rudolf Pechel (Ehrenpräsident), Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Gerhard Storz, Fritz Usinger