The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.


Lukas Bärfuss

Lukas BärfussLukas Bärfuss

Born 30/12/1971
Member since 2015

Georg-Büchner-Preis 2019
Laudatory Address by Judith Gerstenberg
Acceptance Speech by Lukas Bärfuss

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Präsident Ernst Osterkamp
Vizepräsidenten: Aris Fioretos, Wolfgang Klein, Monika Rinck, Beisitzer: Elisabeth Edl, László Földényi, Michael Hagner, Dea Loher, Ilma Rakusa, Marisa Siguan
sowie je ein Vertreter der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, des Landes Hessen und der Stadt Darmstadt