The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.

Prize Winner 2021

Clemens J. Setz

Clemens J. Setz is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2021. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 6.


Hans Erich Nossack

Hans Erich NossackHans Erich Nossack

Born 30/1/1901
Deceased 2/11/1977
Member since 1961

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1961
Laudatory Address by Hermann Kasack
Acceptance Speech by Hans Erich Nossack

... der sich mit den Fragen unserer Zeit eindringlich auseinandergesetzt und sie in gültigen Beispielen dichterisch überzeugend gestaltet hat.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid, Hanns W. Eppelsheimer, Adolf Grimme, Rudolf Hagelstange, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini und Gerhart Pohl, Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Fritz Usinger