Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2017

Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on Oktober, 28.


Erich Kästner

Erich Kästner

Born 23/2/1899
Deceased 29/7/1974
Member since 1949

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1957
Laudatory Address by Kasimir Edschmid
Acceptance Speech by Erich Kästner

... dessen anmutige und menschlich-gütige Erzählungskunst die Jugend vieler Völker entzückt.

Jury members
Ehrenpräsidenten: Rudolf Pechel und Rudolf Alexander Schröder
Präsident: Hermann Kasack
Vizepräsidenten: Kasimir Edschmid, Fritz Usinger und Gerhard Storz
Beirat: Friedrich Bischoff, Adolf Grimme, Rudolf Hagelstange, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini und Gerhart Pohl.