Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Paul Celan

Paul CelanPaul Celan

Born 23/11/1920
Deceased 20/4/1970

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1960
Laudatory Address by Marie Luise Kaschnitz
Acceptance Speech by Paul Celan

Aus der Tiefe poetischer Eingebungen geholt, findet in seinem Werk das Wort zur Inständigkeit des Dauernden.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid, Hanns W. Eppelsheimer Adolf Grimme, Rudolf Hagelstange, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini, Rudolf Pechel (Ehrenpräsident), Gerhart Pohl, Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Fritz Usinger