Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Manès Sperber

Manès Sperber

Writer, Publicist and Psychologist
Born 12/12/1905
Deceased 5/2/1984
Member since 1970

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1975
Laudatory Address by Heinrich Böll
Acceptance Speech by Manès Sperber

Manès Sperber, der in Romanen, Essays und autobiographischen Schriften die Kunst beständiger Selbstprüfung übt...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Peter de Mendelssohn
Horst Bienek, Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Geno Hartlaub, Karl Krolow, Manfred Ranft (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Dolf Sternberger, Gerhard Storz, Wolfgang Weyrauch