The Georg Büchner Prize was first established during the Weimar Republic by the State of Hesse. Its purpose was to recognise writers, artists, actors and singers. It was first awarded in 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the new Büchner Prize has been awarded annually by the German Academy for Language and Literature. According to the charter of the Academy, it is given to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German culture.«
The prize is awarded at a ceremony held during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize currently comes with an award of €50,000.


Helmut Heißenbüttel

Helmut Heißenbüttel

Born 21/6/1921
Deceased 19/9/1996
Member since 1972

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1969
Laudatory Address by Karl Krolow
Acceptance Speech by Helmut Heißenbüttel

Er hat bisher ungenutztes Vermögen der Sprache aufgespürt und mit poetischer Folgerichtigkeit in seinem Werk festgehalten...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Gerhard Storz
Siegfried Dörffeldt (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Richard Gerlach, Ernst Kreuder, Karl Krolow, Fritz Martini, Otto Rombach, Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Hans Scholz, Dolf Sternberger, Wolfgang Weyrauch