Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.

Prize Winner 2017

Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner is awarded the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on Oktober, 28.


Günter Eich

Günter EichGünter Eich

Poet and Author of radio dramas
Born 1/2/1907
Deceased 20/12/1972
Member since 1960

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1959
Laudatory Address by Walter Höllerer
Acceptance Speech by Günter Eich

Günter Eich, der durch die unpathetische Sprache seiner Gedichte und Hörspiele ein rückhaltloses Bekenntnis zur Kreatur fordert...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Hermann Kasack
Friedrich Bischoff, Kasimir Edschmid, Hanns W. Eppelsheimer, Adolf Grimme, Rudolf Hagelstange, Wilhelm Lehmann, Fritz Martini, Rudolf Pechel (Ehrenpräsident), Gerhart Pohl, Rudolf Alexander Schröder (Ehrenpräsident), Fritz Usinger