Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Josef Winkler

Josef Winkler

Born 3/3/1953

Georg-Büchner-Preis 2008
Laudatory Address by Ulrich Weinzierl
Acceptance Speech by Josef Winkler

... barock-expressive, rhythmische Prosa von dunkler Schönheit...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Klaus Reichert
Friedrich Christian Delius, Peter Hamm, Harald Hartung, Joachim Kalka, Peter von Matt, Uwe Pörksen, Ilma Rakusa, Gustav Seibt, Werner Spies, außerdem Elisabeth Abendroth (Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst), Peter Benz (Stadt Darmstadt)