Established by the then People's State of Hesse to recognise poets, artists, actors and singers, the »Georg-Büchner-Preis« was first awarded on 11 August 1923 in the state capital, Darmstadt.
Since 1951 the »Büchner-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature. It is granted to authors »writing in the German language whose work is considered especially meritorious and who have made a significant contribution to contemporary German cultural life.« (Academy charter)
The »Georg-Büchner-Preis« is awarded annually during the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt. The prize comes with a €50,000 award.


Thomas Bernhard

Thomas Bernhard

Born 9/2/1931
Deceased 12/2/1989
Member from 1972 to 1979

Georg-Büchner-Preis 1970
Laudatory Address by Günter Blöcker
Acceptance Speech by Thomas Bernhard

Den unablässigen Vorgang der Zerstörung individuellen Lebens hat er in einer anscheinend beruhigten Prosa aufgespürt...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Gerhard Storz
Siegfried Dörffeldt (Hessisches Kultusministerium), Richard Gerlach, Ernst Kreuder, Karl Krolow, Fritz Martini, Otto Rombach, Horst Rüdiger, Heinz Winfried Sabais (Stadt Darmstadt), Hans Scholz, Dolf Sternberger, Wolfgang Weyrauch