The »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« (Prize for Academic Prose) was first awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature in 1964.
It is granted to scholars who publish in German and contribute decisively to the development of language usage in their fields of study through excellent linguistic style.
The »Freud-Preis« is sponsored by the HSE Foundation and is awarded annually at the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize has been endowed with €20,000 since 2013.

Prize Winner 2016

Jan Assmann is awarded the »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« 2016. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 5.


Jürgen Habermas

Jürgen Habermas

Philosopher and Sociologist
Born 18/6/1929
Member since 1983

Sigmund-Freud-Preis 1976
Laudatory Address by Dieter Wellershoff
Acceptance Speech by Jürgen Habermas

Das Werk des Denkers ist das Werk seiner Sprache.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Präsident Peter de Mendelssohn
Vizepräsidenten Karl Krolow, Horst Rüdiger, Dolf Sternberger, Beisitzer Horst Bienek, Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Geno Hartlaub, Gerhard Storz, Wolfgang Weyrauch