The »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« (Prize for Academic Prose) was first awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature in 1964.
It is granted to scholars who publish in German and contribute decisively to the development of language usage in their fields of study through excellent linguistic style.
The Sigmund Freud Prize is sponsored by the HSE Foundation and is awarded annually at the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize has been endowed with €20,000 since 2013.

Prize Winner 2022

Iris Därmann is awarded the »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« 2022. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on November, 5.


Hubert Wolf

Hubert Wolf

church historian
Born 26/11/1959

Sigmund-Freud-Preis 2021
Laudatory Address by Christoph Markschies
Acceptance Speech by Hubert Wolf

Hubert Wolf gelingt es, in seiner wissenschaftlichen Prosa Akribie und Erzählfreude in Einklang zu bringen.

Jury members
Ernst Osterkamp, Ursula Bredel, Michael Hagner, Monika Rinck, Lukas Bärfuss, Elisabeth Edl, Maja Haderlap, Ilma Rakusa, Marisa Siguan und Stefan Weidner