The »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« (Prize for Academic Prose) was first awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature in 1964.
It is granted to scholars who publish in German and contribute decisively to the development of language usage in their fields of study through excellent linguistic style.
The »Freud-Preis« is sponsored by the HSE Foundation and is awarded annually at the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize has been endowed with €20,000 since 2013.

Prize Winner 2017

Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger is awarded the »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on October, 28.


Günter Busch

Günter Busch

Art historian
Born 2/3/1917
Deceased 23/6/2009
Member since 1977

Sigmund-Freud-Preis 1974
Acceptance Speech by Günter Busch

Einsicht beginnt mit der Kunst des Beschreibens.

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Präsident Karl Krolow
Vizepräsidenten Horst Rüdiger, Dolf Sternberger, Wolfgang Weyrauch, Beisitzer Horst Bienek, Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Carl Linfert, Hans Scholz, Gerhard Storz