The »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« (Prize for Academic Prose) was first awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature in 1964.
It is granted to scholars who publish in German and contribute decisively to the development of language usage in their fields of study through excellent linguistic style.
The »Freud-Preis« is sponsored by the HSE Foundation and is awarded annually at the autumn conference of the German Academy in Darmstadt.
The prize has been endowed with €20,000 since 2013.

Prize Winner 2017

Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger is awarded the »Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa« 2017. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Darmstadt on October, 28.


Harald Weinrich

Harald Weinrich

Teacher of Romance languages and Germanist
Born 24/9/1927
Member since 1970

Sigmund-Freud-Preis 1977
Laudatory Address by Gerhard Storz
Acceptance Speech by Harald Weinrich

... Sprachanalyse mit literarischer Kennerschaft von großer Reichweite...

Jury members
Juryvorsitz: Präsident Peter de Mendelssohn
Vizepräsidenten Karl Krolow, Horst Rüdiger, Dolf Sternberger, Beisitzer Horst Bienek, Walter Helmut Fritz, Rudolf Hagelstange, Geno Hartlaub, Gerhard Storz, Wolfgang Weyrauch