The »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature since 1964.
As a »Prize for German Scholarship Abroad«, for 25 years it was exclusively awarded to linguists and literary scholars at foreign universities.
However, the prize has also been awarded to persons outside of academia who are committed to imparting German culture and cultural dialog since the prize was renamed the »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis für die Vermittlung deutscher Kultur im Ausland« (Prize for the Imparting of German Culture Abroad) in 1990.
The »Gundolf-Preis« is awarded annually at the spring conference of the German Academy. It has been endowed with €15,000 since 2013.


Oskar Seidlin

Germanist and Writer
Born 17/2/1911
Deceased 11/12/1984

Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis 1968
Acceptance Speech by Oskar Seidlin

... dem feinsinnigen Deuter deutscher Dichtung...

Jury members
Die Mitglieder der Kommission und des Erweiterten Präsidiums