The »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature since 1964.
As a »Prize for German Scholarship Abroad«, for 25 years it was exclusively awarded to linguists and literary scholars at foreign universities.
However, the prize has also been awarded to persons outside of academia who are committed to imparting German culture and cultural dialog since the prize was renamed the »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis für die Vermittlung deutscher Kultur im Ausland« (Prize for the Imparting of German Culture Abroad) in 1990.
The »Gundolf-Preis« is awarded annually at the spring conference of the German Academy. It has been endowed with €15,000 since 2013.

Gundolf Prize 2016

The German Academy for Language and Literature has awarded its »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis für die Vermittlung deutscher Kultur im Ausland« (prize for furthering the understanding of German culture abroad) to Hubert Orłowski.
The prize carries a cash award of 15000 €.

The Gundolf prize will be presented during the Academy’s spring conference in Koethen (21.–23.4.2016)


Feng Zhi

Germanist, Poet and Translator
Born 17/9/1905
Deceased 22/2/1993

Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis 1988
Laudatory Address by Rolf Trauzettel
Acceptance Speech by Feng Zhi

Ihm, der noch bei Friedrich Gundolf studierte, ist es zu verdanken, daß sich die deutsch-chinesische Literaturbeziehung vertiefen konnte.

Jury members
Kommission: Beda Allemann, Roger Bauer, Eduard Goldstücker, Lea Ritter-Santini

Mitglieder des Erweiterten Präsidiums