The »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature since 1964.
As a »Prize for German Scholarship Abroad«, for 25 years it was exclusively awarded to linguists and literary scholars at foreign universities.
However, the prize has also been awarded to persons outside of academia who are committed to imparting German culture and cultural dialog since the prize was renamed the »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis für die Vermittlung deutscher Kultur im Ausland« (Prize for the Imparting of German Culture Abroad) in 1990.
The »Gundolf-Preis« is awarded annually at the spring conference of the German Academy. It has been endowed with €15,000 since 2013.


Claude David

Born 8/7/1913
Deceased 26/11/1999
Member since 1977

Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis 1978
Laudatory Address by Jan Aller
Acceptance Speech by Claude David

Sein Werk hat die europäische Versöhnung gefördert.

Jury members
Kommission: Richard Alewyn, Eduard Goldstücker, Herman Meyer

Mitglieder des Erweiterten Präsidiums