The »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis« has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature since 1964.
As a »Prize for German Scholarship Abroad«, for 25 years it was exclusively awarded to linguists and literary scholars at foreign universities.
However, the prize has also been awarded to persons outside of academia who are committed to imparting German culture and cultural dialog since the prize was renamed the »Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis für die Vermittlung deutscher Kultur im Ausland« (Prize for the Imparting of German Culture Abroad) in 1990.
The »Gundolf-Preis« is awarded annually at the spring conference of the German Academy. It has been endowed with €15,000 since 2013.


Volkmar Sander

Volkmar Sander

Germanist and Anglicist
Born 1929

Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis 1996
Laudatory Address by Peter Wapnewski
Acceptance Speech by Volkmar Sander

Volkmar Sander, der ebenso kundig wie engagiert für die deutsche Literatur und die deutsche Sprache in den Vereinigten Staaten eingetreten ist...

Jury members
Kommission: François Bondy, Ruth Klüger, Norbert Miller, Lea Ritter-Santini, Jean-Marie Valentin, Peter Wapnewski

Mitglieder des Erweiterten Präsidiums