Autumn conference in Darmstadt

25–27 October 2018

Praising, Chiding, Entertaining
The State of Literary Criticism: A Provisional Assessment

Literary Criticism I
Thumbs Up – Thumbs Down

With the renowned authors Lukas Bärfuss, F.C. Delius, Katja Lange-Müller, Michael Lentz, and Kathrin Röggla

Literary Criticism II
Markets and Media

Lectures and discussion with Adam Soboczynski (Zeit), Felicitas von Lovenberg (Piper Verlag), Mara Delius (Literarische Welt), Julietta Fix ( und Maren Meinhardt (Times Literary Supplement). Presented by: Ernst Osterkamp

Literary Criticism III
Reading Experience Versus Textual Criticism?

Lectures and discussion with Katharina Herrmann (, Lothar Müller (Süddeutsche Zeitung), Christian Metz (LMU München/Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung) and Ulrike Sárkány (NDR Kultur).
Presented by: Michael Hagner

Reading by the Georg Büchner Prize winner for 2018
The writer Terézia Mora reads

Academy awards ceremony
Staatstheater Darmstadt, 27 October, 4pm

The Georg Büchner Prize is awarded to Terézia Mora; the Sigmund Freud Prize for academic prose to Wolfgang Kemp and the Johann Heinrich Merck Prize for literary criticism and essay to Martin Pollack.

Advance ticket sales for the presentation of the Academy awards at the Staatstheater Darmstadt begin on 25 September.