The »Johann-Heinrich-Voß-Preis für Übersetzung« (Prize for Translation) has been awarded by the German Academy for Language and Literature since 1958 for the »outstanding achievements in translation,« with a particular emphasis on the translation of literature into German.
The prize is awarded annually at the spring conference of the German Academy.
The Johann Heinrich Voß Prize has been endowed with €15,000 since 2002.

Voss Prize 2019

The German Academy for Language and Literature is awarding the Johann-Heinrich-Voß-Preis 2019 (prize for translation) to Kurt Steinmann for his translations from classical Greek and Latin.
The prize carries a cash award of 15000 €.

The Voß prize will be presented during the Academy’s spring conference in Biel/Bienne and Zurich (22.–25.5.2019).


Michael Walter

Michael Walter

Born 4/1/1951
Member since 1988

Johann-Heinrich-Voß-Preis 1989
Laudatory Address by Hans Wollschläger
Acceptance Speech by Michael Walter

... ein Meister in der reichen Tradition der Literaturübersetzung...

Jury members
Kommission: Hanno Helbling, Friedhelm Kemp, Lea Ritter-Santini, Hans Wollschläger

Mitglieder des Erweiterten Präsidiums